first_imgClubs & Societies Award winners pictured at the presentation are (back) Vicky O’Rourke, AnnMarie Kelly, both Clubs Committee members, Paul Lynch, Pauric Glackin, Denis Bourne, Kevin Russell and Chris Chan, all Clubs & Societies Scholarship winners, Fiona Kelly Clubs Committee member, Aoife Doherty, SU front are Paul Hannigan, President, LyiT, Klaudia Siolowska, Sandra Lieubbtiktce, both Clubs & Societies Scholarship winners, Billy Bennett, Registrar, and Paddy Gallagher, Student Services Officer.A total of 7 student scholarships were presented to students of Letterkenny IT in recognition of their dedication to Clubs & Societies in the institute. In addition, four major Clubs and Societies Awards were presented to the most successful clubs operating in the institute at this time.The Clubs programme has been very successful in recent years and has gained national recognition in recent years at the BICS awards, where several individual clubs from Letterkenny IT won national awards, namely the Diabetic Club and the LGBT Society. The winners of the Most Outstanding Club Award, this year, went to the Law Society, the award was presented to Chris Chan, a long- time member of the club and a dedicated worker, the award was presented by Dylan McGowan, Student Union President.Denis Bourne a 4th year student in LyIT pictured at the presentation of Clubs & Societies Scholarships, Denis is amember of the Android App Society in the institute and is pictured with Paul Hannigan, President.The Award for Civic, Charity and Community Engagement Award went to the Gaisce Society, a group that has seen many of its members attain the Gold Award in the past years, and hopefully, will continue to do so.The Leadership Award was presented, by the Student Union President, to the Android App Society, a society dedicated to developing computer software applications to assist in learning and in social networking. This group have volunteered their time to assisting with classes in computer programming in local primary schools and secondary schools in the area.The final major award of the evening went to the Public Speaking Society for Best Society 2016. It was a fitting award to a team that worked successfully together in providing regular and topical items throughout the year in the institute, two of the society’s members Klaudia Ciolkowska and Sandra Liubkeviciute, also were presented with Clubs & Societies Scholarships on the evening. Paul Hannigan, President LyIT, presented 7 Clubs & Societies scholarships to the following:Pauric Glackin, Canoe ClubChris Chan, Law SocietyDenis Bourke, Android App SocietyKlaudia Ciolkowska, Public Speaking Paul Lynch, LGBT SocietyKevin Russell, Ultimate Frisbee SocietySandra Liubkeviciute, Public Speaking Society.In sport, the Team of the Year Award went to the successful Hurling Team of LYIT, who recently won the Corn Padraig Mac Diarmada Cup in Cork. Winners of the Clubs & Societies Awards at Letterkenny IT are pictured from left, (front) Stephen McGettigan, Sandra Lieubtiktce and Klaudia Siolowska, Public Speaking Society, winners of the Best Club Award. (Back row) Aoife Doherty, Fiona Kelly Denis Bourne, Android App Society, winner of the Leadership Award, AnnMarie Kelly, Chris Chan, Law Society, winner of the Most Outstanding Club Member Award and Paddy Gallagher.LYIT CLUBS AND SOCIETIES AWARDS PRESENTATION – PIC SPECIAL was last modified: March 20th, 2016 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)Tags:clubs and societiesdonegalLYITPaul Hanniganlast_img read more

Read More →